Athletics

Our “all-in” spirit comes to life each day on our athletic fields. Our well-balanced athletic program provides our students the opportunity to challenge themselves, discover their strengths and interests, and experience the thrill of competition.

Students in our Primary, Lower, and Middle Schools participate in our physical education program. Through skill-building, games, and intramural competitions, students are prepared for interscholastic play while implementing teamwork, sportsmanship, and perseverance. Their experiences prepare them for the interscholastic teams they’ll join as Upper School students and develop healthy habits that will last a lifetime.

Athletic Teams

Facilities

Our entire community is invited to cheer for our teams as they defend against visiting area-schools. Gleason Field, Bleakie Field, and Talbot Field overlook the beautiful Broad Cove and comprise two of our four athletic fields. The beautiful McKelvey Gymnasium, housed in the Roy Campus Center, contains two regulation-size courts, which convert into four practice basketball courts. The Sadler Fitness Room hosts sports training groups and a workout room for off-season use. Our facilities allow most of Derby's athletic teams to compete and practice on campus, along with the use of the Hersey Gymnasium. Our co-ed ice hockey team practices and plays at Pilgrim Rink Skating Complex in Hingham, while the Cross Country team hosts its meets at nearby Bare Cove Park. 

Clinics and Camps

Derby regularly partners with local youth sports training organizations to offer our students and the local community the opportunity to further their training in certain sports. Whether it's during the summer or in anticipation of an upcoming season, our students have access to a variety of local youth sports clinics and camps.

Athletic Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Aug 29
Mon, Aug 30
Tue, Aug 31
Wed, Sep 1
Thu, Sep 2
Fri, Sep 3
Sat, Sep 4
Sun, Sep 5
Mon, Sep 6
Tue, Sep 7
Wed, Sep 8
Thu, Sep 9
Fri, Sep 10
Sat, Sep 11
Sun, Sep 12
Mon, Sep 13
Tue, Sep 14
Wed, Sep 15
Thu, Sep 16
Fri, Sep 17
Sat, Sep 18
Sun, Sep 19
Mon, Sep 20
Tue, Sep 21
Girls Varsity Soccer vs. British School of Boston (Home)
Playing Fields - Gleason Field - 3
Boys' JVA Soccer vs. British School of Boston (Home)
Playing Fields - Bleakie Field - 2
Wed, Sep 22
Girls JV Soccer vs. Milton Academy (Home)
Playing Fields - Bleakie Field - 2
Field Hockey vs. Hingham Youth Field Hockey (Home)
Playing Fields - Talbot Field - 1
Cross Country vs. Noble & Greenough School (Away)
Noble & Greenough School
Thu, Sep 23
Boys' JVB Soccer vs. South Shore Christian Academy (Home)
Playing Fields - Bleakie Field - 2
Girls Varsity Soccer vs. Charles River School (Home)
Playing Fields - Gleason Field - 3
Fri, Sep 24
Sat, Sep 25
Derby Academy, Hingham, Athletics, Private School, South Shore